Tough cookie: 6 miles in rain and ice pellets

Today I ran six miles in rain and ice pellets.

Bugman gamely offered to go with me, bless him, but I told him he really didn’t have to, so he begged off (and did the dishes while I was gone! ♥).

When I left the house, it was about 35 degrees, with the wind out of the northeast at 38 mph, gusting to 47, with a light rain. As they say, there is no bad weather – just bad clothing. I was actually pretty comfortable … until the ice pellets started falling. Ow.

“WHY?!??” you may be thinking. “Why in the world would anyone go for a 6-mile run in weather like that?!??”

I give you:

KATIE’S TOP 10 REASONS TO RUN 6 MILES IN RAIN, WIND, AND ICE PELLETS:

  1. It’ll give me something to blog about.
  2. According to the weather forecast, it’s only going to get worse. Might as well get the run over with.
  3. It’s better than the dreadmill at the gym.
  4. You’ll be the only person to appreciate that flock of sandhill cranes calling as they fly east along the river.
  5. You can be the first person to detect the ice pellets and make a report through the PING Project.
  6. Everybody will think you’re badass.
  7. You can burn off that half-bag of 50% off Easter peanut M&Ms you snarfed, or crack open a well-deserved Cornstalker.
  8. No need to sweat – the rain soaking through your clothing will cool you off very efficiently.
  9. You can test out your bad-weather clothing. What if you get similar weather during the race you plan to run? How else will you know what to wear?
  10. When you haven’t seen real rain in about 8 months, it feels really good to get out in it.
Snapped during today's run, just as the ice pellets began falling. The North Platte River is low - so low!

Snapped during today’s run, just as the ice pellets began falling. The North Platte River is low – so low!

Regarding #9, here’s what I wore to stay relatively comfortable during my 72-minute run:

  • runners ballcap – the brim kept the rain out of my eyes and, when tilted at a crazy angle to deflect the wind, kept the ice pellets from stinging my face
  • fleece earband
  • My thickest running pants (usually reserved for subzero temperatures)
  • My thickest zipneck running shirt (again, usually reserved for subzero temperatures)
  • Thin windshell jacket
  • Smartwool socks
  • 180 glomits – my favorite piece of running gear ever (gloves with a windproof mitten shell and breathable palm)
  • el cheapo sandwich bag to keep my iPhone dry (the touchscreen still works through the plastic)

By the time I was done, there was a coating of ice on my ballcap brim and I was carrying about 5 extra pounds of water in my clothing, but I was not frozen.

I must send out a fist bump to the drivers on West Overland who moved over when they saw me running towards them so I wouldn’t have to squash into the mud, and also to the driver on 20th Street who stopped to let me cross.

I guess that would be an addition to my top 10 list – courteous drivers who yield to sopping-wet, crazy runners.

Copyright 2012 by Katie Bradshaw

3 thoughts on “Tough cookie: 6 miles in rain and ice pellets

Leave a Reply

