First flat on the tandem

Last week, Bugman and I suffered our first flat tire on the tandem.

It wasn’t so bad because we were in a very convenient location to get a flat: our living room.

Thanks to our recent lovely spring weather ….

Grape hyacynth in the snow

Grape Hyacinth in the snow

we were riding our trainer indoors while watching TV.

Actual trainer not visible in this photo, due to flaws in my self-photography technique.

Actual trainer not visible in this photo, due to flaws in my self-photography technique.

I suppose if we plan to use the trainer on a regular basis, we ought to get a rear wheel specifically for that purpose.

I’m still not terribly comfortable with the trainer setup. Maybe it wasn’t an errant thorn poking through the tire that caused the flat (Bugman didn’t find one when he changed the inner tube) but rather an error in how I adjusted the tension on the trainer? If anyone has a list of common mistakes to link to, I’d appreciate it. (We have a Kurt Kinetic Road Machine.)

I also have no idea how many “miles” to add to our training total after the trainer ride. I’ll take a wild guess and say we put in 12 miles before we got our flat.

Copyright 2013 by Katie Bradshaw

Leave a Reply

