Y Not Ride? Saddle sores!

I just love that there are so many healthy community activities springing up in the area. I’ve previously mentioned the Monument Marathon, which has gotten a lot of people out on the roads around here. Another new-within-the-past-couple-of-years event is the Y Not Ride, organized through the Scottsbluff YMCA, which took place May 4.

The Y Not Ride has five distance options and is friendly to riders at all levels:

  • 3 miles to the Trails West camp
  • 9 miles to Scotts Bluff National Monument
  • 28 miles to Melbeta
  • 54 miles to Bayard
  • 80 miles to Bridgeport

Bugman and I chose the 54-mile option, since we need to get some miles out on the road, and it would be nice to do so with sag wagon support.

This would be our longest ride to date – surpassing the 46 miles we completed on Easter Sunday.

Let me tell you – when you are on a bike saddle for 4 1/2 hours, you had better be sure your butt’s in proper gear. I am still learning. I wound up with sores at my sit bones and could not ride my bike to work for a week. When we took a break during the ride, it was extremely uncomfortable to get back onto the saddle again.

I looked up some advice on how to deal with saddle sores.

I think I need to try out some different clothing and something like Chamois BUTT’r or Anti Monkey Butt powder.

Bugman and I also need to remember is to stand up on the bike more often, such as when we are coasting downhill. We also need to learn to pedal while standing up on the tandem. If you are on a single bike, you can stand up on your pedals whenever you want to relieve pressure on your bum. On a tandem, everything has to be coordinated.

We did try standing while pedaling for a short distance, but the gear wasn’t high enough and we sat down after just a few cranks. I laughed. It was humorously awkward. Alas, I have no photo of this, as I was working too hard on staying upright and on the bike.

On to the photos I did take!

Cyclists gather for the Y Not Ride.

Cyclists gather for the Y Not Ride.

Among the cyclists were four other sets of tandem riders! It's becoming a "thing" in western Nebraska! Alas, the other cyclists seem to be significantly faster than us, so group rides in the future seem unlikely.

Among the cyclists were four other sets of tandem riders! It’s becoming a “thing” in western Nebraska! These folks passed us early in the ride. We are not terribly speedy.

We passed by the turnoff to Melbeta and headed out to Bayard.

We passed by the turnoff to Melbeta and the Kelley Bean plant and headed out to Bayard. Somewhere just north of Bayard, we had to speed up when we noticed a loose dog charging up out of a field towards us. Someone later suggested that we should pack a water pistol full of lemon juice for future fractious canine run-ins.

Bugman resting at the refreshment stop at the Bayard Depot Museum.

Bugman resting at the refreshment stop at the Bayard Depot Museum. I was glad for the bathroom break. And the goldfish crackers. I decided that goldfish crackers are now one of my favorite cycling fuels.

Not too far south of the Depot, we passed a marker that indicated we were crossing the old trail the Mormon emigrants followed over a century ago.

Not too far south of the Depot, we passed a marker that indicated we were crossing the old trail the Mormon emigrants followed over a century ago.

We crossed the North Platte River ...

We crossed the North Platte River …

... and turned onto the modern highway that follows the Oregon-California Trail past Chimney Rock.

… and turned west onto the modern highway that follows the Oregon-California Trail past Chimney Rock. It just geeks me out that I can leave my house for a casual ride and pass through a historically significant landscape like this!

We passed horses ...

We passed horses …

... and longhorn cattle.

… and longhorn cattle …

... and the Pink Palace pub/grill in McGrew ...

… and the Pink Palace pub/grill in McGrew …

... and Castle Rock ...

… and Castle Rock.

With Scotts Bluff visible in the distance, we paused for a "butt break."

With Scotts Bluff visible in the distance, we paused for a “butt break.”

The Farm And Ranch Museum, soon to become Legacy of the Plains Museum:  the reason I am fundraising!

The Farm And Ranch Museum, soon to become Legacy of the Plains Museum: the reason I am fundraising!

The photos ended here, with about 8 miles left in the ride, because I got warm and took off my jacket.

To explain: while on the tandem, I have been wearing my camera on a lanyard hung from my neck, so the camera is accessible but not at risk of being dropped. When I have my jacket on, the fabric keeps my camera contained. With no jacket, the camera swings wildly and annoys me.

I need to come up with a better method of camera containment before warm weather sets in.

Suggestions …. ???

Copyright 2013 by Katie Bradshaw

 

 

Leave a Reply

