Bluff run

My run for May 22 doesn’t look all that special. I ran 3.3 miles at a 12:29 pace.

Ah, but my climb in that short run was 844 feet. I did a “bluff run”!

Me, slightly winded at the top of Scotts Bluff, slightly ticked off because Bugman ran at his own pace on this run and blew me out of the water. He did the run at 10:48 pace and ran circles in the parking lot up top, waiting for me to catch up. We have been training together for months. It just aggravates me that he can just up and run like that when it is so, so hard for me.

Me, winded at the top of Scotts Bluff, slightly ticked off because Bugman ran at his own pace on this run and blew me out of the water. He did the run at 10:48 pace and ran circles in the parking lot up top, waiting for me to catch up. We have been training together for months. It just aggravates me that he can just up and run like that when it is so, so hard for me – I can’t possibly keep up.

I just can’t repeat often enough how much I love having Scotts Bluff National Monument in my civic backyard. It’s a great training challenge with a great view!

On this evening in late May, we ran up the road instead of the pathway. I prefer the wide-open space of the roadway at that time of day at this time of year: all the better to see the rattlesnakes, my dear.

I forgot, though, just how severely canted the Monument road is. It’s not too much fun to run on.

Perhaps I’ll have to do my next bluff run early in the morning so I can take the path …

Copyright 2013 by Katie Bradshaw

One thought on “Bluff run

  1. Pingback: Bike the bluff | Wyobraska Tandem

Leave a Reply

