National Running Day

So, last Wednesday (June 5) was National Running Day.

How did I miss this??

Um . . . maybe because I’m working so much on the museum project that I don’t have much time or attention to spare?

Oh yeah.

That would also explain why I’m posting about this topic several days after the fact…

Anyhoo, I was supposed to go for a 5-mile run on Wednesday, but I’d had a long day at work, and I reeeally didn’t want to go.  I posted as such on social media.

I decided to get up early and run the following morning instead.

In the interim, my friends commented on my post, which led to the following conversation:

Friend 1: “But it is National Running Day!”

Friend 2: “I made it out for a short run this morn after I reminded myself it’s national running day.”

Me: “Darn. I’m already in bed with the alarm set for 4:30am. Missed celebrating another holiday.”

Friend 2: “Then make tomorrow national running day, Katie!”

Me: “It IS more fun to make up one’s own holidays…”

Friend 2: “That’s the spirit!”

So, I declared June 7 “Say ‘Good Morning’ to Everyone You Meet While Running Day.” (Note: this holiday can be hilariously awkward in the later hours of the day.)

“Good morning” to the man walking a Pomeranian!

“Good morning” to another man walking two small dogs!

“Good morning” to two young men carrying a stringer of catfish!

“Good morning” to two women out for a walk!

“Good morning” to the woman unlocking her car!

“Good morning” to the robin who repeatedly flew in front of me on the sidewalk!

Those were all the opportunities I got in 5.8 miles.

You don’t meet too many people when you head out at 5:45 am.

But you do have good opportunities for sunrise shadow pictures.

Running along the embankment at the South Beltline curve.

Running along the embankment at the South Beltline curve.

My shadow stretched my legs to the freakish proportions of a Barbie doll. Dang - if I had legs like that, I could beat Bugman in a race, hands down!

My shadow stretched my legs to the freakish proportions of a Barbie doll. Dang – if I had legs like that, I could beat Bugman in a race, hands down!

Copyright 2013 by Katie Bradshaw

Leave a Reply

