You’re never too old to chase your dreams

I’ll admit – I found myself shedding tears of joy when Diana Nyad made it to Key West today.

The news media generally fell down on covering this story. (What – afraid she would “fail” again?) Here is a link to her blog with links of film coverage.

Diana’s effort and her profession that this would be her last attempt made me think of the Special Olympics oath.

Let me win. But if I cannot win, let me be brave in the attempt.

For me, “winning” is not coming in first.

I know I am not fast, and I don’t have the fierce desire needed to reach the upper echelons of sport.

For me, “winning” is getting out there and making the attempt. It’s finishing the ride or the race when I don’t think I can but I manage to find enough grit to persevere. It’s my fight to be athletic in middle age when I was an avowed bookworm-couchpotato as a kid.

Year ago, I added to my bucket list: “run my first marathon at age 40.”

And here I am, less than two months before I hit “that certain age,” the day after I ran 17 miles for the first time in my life for a training run, and – miracle of miracles! – I can still walk!

Just because my hair is going gray and various parts are beginning to show wear doesn’t mean I can’t still train my body to accomplish amazing things.

Here is Diana Nyad, about to turn 64, and she has accomplished something that other, younger mortals (including a younger version of herself) tried to do and failed.

While certain physical abilities may decline with age, I think resourcefulness and grit have unlimited growth potential.

When Diana emerged from the water, swaying with fatigue, she still had the presence of mind to make a speech. (I reckon she was thinking about what she would say on arrival during those long hours of swimming.)

I have three messages. One is, we should never, ever give up. Two is, you’re never are too old to chase your dreams. And three is, it looks like a solitary sport but it’s a team.

I’m stubborn. I’m about to turn 40, and I want to complete my first marathon. I have the support of family and friends.

I can do this thing!!

Copyright 2013 by Katie Bradshaw

5 thoughts on “You’re never too old to chase your dreams

  1. I day before you wrote this I completed my first half marathon. I turned 40 in January. Many of your sentiments and thoughts mirror mine. I started running about two weeks before I turned 40. I will end my 40th year (hopefully) in the best physical condition I have ever been (God willing). My goal of my first half was to finish. Did I run it all, nope. Did I hope to, nope. But I ran a fair way and learned a lot for next time! (November!). Here in NZ Diana made big news. Maybe because we are familiar with people doing rather nutty things! We more we endure the more we can see how things fit in to the bigger picture. Keep running!!!! (and cycling, and …)

    • “The more we endure the more we can see how things fit in to the bigger picture.”

      I wholly agree with this sentiment!

      Many congrats on completing your half! *high five*

      Did you get a finisher medal?

      I’ve heard high-caliber runners complain about the clutter of those finisher medals. Me, I treasure mine as a symbol of achieving something I once thought impossible.

  2. No – no medal 😦 But I got a personalised race “number” with my name on it which I promptly blinged (with the help of my 8 year old) I am a sentimental old fool sometimes, and I have put it on my motivation board along with all my training plans, sponsorship forms and the rest. I still can hardly believe that it is done! Aren’t we wonderful!

Leave a Reply

