Sneaking around sore muscles

I have a dilemma.

I missed almost two weeks of running in my marathon training. When I got back into it, I did a 7.8-mile run followed by a 17-mile run three days later.

After that 17-miler, my thigh muscles were really sore. Not just a normal burning-muscle sore. They almost felt bruised.

After another three days had passed, the muscle soreness was nearly gone, so I headed out for a 5-miler. About a mile into that run, the muscle pain returned with a vengeance.

Only 5 miles, and for two days I couldn’t stand up or sit down without pain, and the muscles are still a little sore.

Which leaves me with a dilemma.

Today will be my third day clocked without running. I already skipped an 8-miler on my training plan. The plan says I am supposed to run 18 this weekend.

I’m afraid that 18 miles might debilitate me for the rest of the week.

What to do? What to do?

Next week is a lower-mileage weekend run, with 13 miles on the schedule.

Maybe I can flip weeks and try for 13 tomorrow and 18 next week and sneak around the sore muscles.

On a related but totally random note: I pulled a muscle while sleeping.

Yes, I am that talented.

I have a habit of doing a sort of stretch/leg muscle flex when I turn over in the night. Last night when I did that – YOINK! – my adductor (or maybe my gracilis?) somehow tweaked itself.

I’m going to spend the rest of the day preserving summer produce and trying not to get injured . . .

Copyright 2013 by Katie Bradshaw

Leave a Reply

