Made it 15, anyway

I was supposed to run 18 miles this weekend, decided to shoot for 13 because of muscle pain, but wound up being able to tolerate 15.5. Granted, it was a very slow 15.5, but distance is distance, no matter how slow!

It’s still a mystery to me the variables that affect my running.

I suppose my pace was slowed a little because of the scenery. Sometimes you just have to stop and take a photo.

Me and Bugman, on a Scotts Bluff National Monument pathway. Sometimes I have to pinch myself to be sure I am not dreaming and that I truly live only 5 miles from scenery this beautiful.

Me and Bugman, on a Scotts Bluff National Monument pathway. Sometimes I have to pinch myself to be sure I am not dreaming and that I truly live only 5 miles from scenery this beautiful.

We weren't the only ones tackling Mitchell Pass on the Oregon Trail that day. At the crest of the hill in this photo is another runner - behind him, a cyclist. This is part of the course for the Monument Marathon (and half), which will be held Sept. 18 this year. Registration deadline is Sept. 15!! Check it out here.

We weren’t the only ones tackling Mitchell Pass on the Oregon Trail that day. At the crest of the hill in this photo is a tiny dot that is actually another runner – behind him, a cyclist. This is part of the course for the Monument Marathon (and half), which will be held Sept. 28 this year. Registration deadline is Sept. 15!!

An ornate box turtle!! First one I've seen! Found this little guy on the canal road north of Scotts Bluff National Monument.

An ornate box turtle!! First one I’ve seen! Found this little guy on the canal road north of Scotts Bluff National Monument.

In my last post, I had commented about preserving summer produce. Here is what I did with some of that produce, which tasted really, really, really, really good after running 15.5 miles:

Homemade waffles made with locally-grown wheat flour that is coarse ground and kind of crunchy, topped with butter and stewed garden tomatoes (no additives, just cooked-down tomato goodness), topped with shredded Meadowlark goat cheddar from Victory Hill Farm, plus basil from the garden. A friend suggested this type of savory waffle, and, boy, was it scrumptious!

Homemade waffles made with locally-grown wheat flour that is coarse ground and kind of crunchy, topped with butter and stewed garden tomatoes (no additives, just cooked-down tomato goodness), topped with shredded Meadowlark goat cheddar from Victory Hill Farm, plus basil from the garden. A friend suggested this type of savory waffle, and, boy, was it scrumptious!

Copyright 2013 by Katie Bradshaw

Leave a Reply

