I eat 5Ks, 10Ks, for breakfast

I’ve seen a lot of sunrises on my early morning runs lately. (The photos are never as vivid as the sky itself.)

sunrise 1

sunrise 2

A panoramic – too bad I didn’t catch it about 20 minutes later – the sky was on fire then.

sunrise 4

My favorite – sunrise with soccer goals. The sunrise on this day was fantastic. I felt like I was moving through color.

sunrise 3

Running continues to be difficult for me, so I am always seeking ways to motivate myself.

One way of motivating myself is thinking about how badass I am when I do things like run 5 or 8 miles before heading off to work. Especially when I can remember waaay back to the accomplishment of running my first 5K.

I eat 5Ks and 10Ks for breakfast!

Last Sunday, I was supposed to run 19 miles. Last weekend was also Harvest Festival at my museum, which meant I was on my feet from 7am to 5pm Saturday and had to be at work again at 10am on Sunday for six hours. (I worked last Saturday, too. Really looking forward to a whole weekend to myself someday.)

As I headed out for my second loop on the 19-mile route, I just wasn’t feeling it. I also realized I would be pushing it, timewise, and might be late getting to work. I decided to cut the run short and logged “just” 13.1 miles. (This coming weekend was scheduled to be 12 miles, so I figured I could just swap weeks. If I can. Supposed to be on my feet all day Saturday helping staff the Monument Marathon.)

I felt like a bit of a quitter, not striving for my goal miles that day.

But then a friend helped me realized that I RAN A HALF-MARATHON AND THEN WENT TO WORK!!!

That’s badass.

I can recall running a half marathon and being totally shot the rest of the day.

I’m definitely improving.

But there is still tension about whether I can really pull off this full marathon thing.

Everyone says, “you can do it!!”

But I know all too well how illness or injury can crash the party and mess up a race attempt.

All I can do is keep trying.

And listen to Bugman repeat “there is no try – only do.”

Copyright 2013 by Katie Bradshaw

2 thoughts on “I eat 5Ks, 10Ks, for breakfast

Leave a Reply

