Everything still works!

Here we are, 9 days after marathon day, and Bugman and I went out for a 4-mile run this evening.

No odd aches or pains. Everything seems to be in working order. I can still run.

I have owned this marathon thing!

Side note: I’ve seen advice online, probably misinterpreted, that suggests taking a day off running for every mile raced. I think that’s ridiculous!! If I did that, I’d lose all the fitness I’ve gained!

I reckon the advice is directed at those people who turn themselves inside out to get the best possible time for their marathon (that is not me!), and also directed at back-to-back racers (well, that is me, actually – I just signed up for a half-marathon Thanksgiving weekend!).

Another side note: I’m still working on a blog post on my marathon experience. It can take me days of writing and rewriting to complete a post sometimes. I’m also still discombobulated from all the time-zone-crossing and daylight savings time switcheroos and find myself unable to keep my eyes open past 9 p.m. So it might take awhile to get my marathon post up.

Copyright 2013 by Katie Bradshaw

Leave a Reply

