The good and bad of an evening run

Yesterday morning was pretty chilly (about 20 degrees), so I wasn’t too sad not to be running and to be attending a 7:30 a.m. meeting instead.

I was kind of annoyed, however, that I didn’t have time to take some pictures of the lightly-frosted winter wonderland created by freezing morning fog, so I’ll only have a quick photo interlude before talking about running.

We might have had a little graupel last night? I get excited about this, as only since moving to the High Plains have I witnessed and learned there was a name for this type of precipitation.

We might have had a little graupel last night? I get excited about this, as only since moving to the High Plains have I witnessed and learned there was a name for this type of precipitation.

There was hoarfrost on everything, but the most fascinating to me was the spider webbing. Wish I could have found a full web before my meeting, but these web threads draped over the horseshoe Christmas tree outside the museum were pretty darned cool.

There was hoarfrost on everything, but the most fascinating to me was the spider webbing, which was all beaded with tiny crystals of frozen fog. Wish I could have found a full web before my meeting, but these web threads draped over the horseshoe Christmas tree outside the museum were pretty darned cool.

About the run: I got out of work at 7 p.m. and had an internal monologue something like this:

Responsible me: “You need to go for a run. You’ve been sitting all day, and you need to get the miles in. You have a race coming up!”

Whiny/slothful me: “But it’s dark! And I have to run by myself. And I just want to sit and read the paper and have a beer!”

Outdoorsy me: “It’s warmer out now than it was this morning. The stars are beautiful. It’s a lovely evening!”

Impatient me: “Oh, just put your running kit on and get this over with!”

Responsible, outdoorsy, impatient me wins!

Which leads me to: The Good and Bad of an Evening Run . . .

Good: I love my little clip-on hat light.

Bad: I had to learn to direct my breath downwards, or the illuminated condensate would block my vision.

Good: I managed not to trip on any sidewalk cracks or get my eye poked by a low-hanging denuded tree branch.

Bad: You can’t see neighborhood dogs in the dark, and several of them nearly made me jump out of my skin with their sudden, nearby barking.

Good: All the dogs were chained and/or fenced. I did not get bitten.

Bad: I missed a turn in the dark and got lost in an unfamiliar neighborhood. (That’ll teach me to try a new route by myself in the dark.)

Good: The neighborhood led out to a familiar place, and I wound up getting exactly the miles I wanted by the time I got home.

Bad: Several people have violated standards of good taste and have turned on their Christmas lights well before Thanksgiving.

early christmas treeGood: Well, I suppose it’s a way to thumb one’s nose at the ever-darkening days until Solstice.

Bad: My right shoe came untied. Twice. What gives? Have I suddenly forgotten how to tie shoes?

Good: My overall pace was less than 11 minutes per mile. Quite good for me, especially for anything over 3 miles!

Also good: The stars were beautiful.

That’s all for now!

Copyright 2013 by Katie Bradshaw

Leave a Reply

