Bike to Work Week – Day 2

So, yeah, it’s Day 2 of Bike to Work Week, but today was my first ride. Sorry – was not going to ride in the slush yesterday. You can call me a wimp, but only if you were out there cycling in western Nebraska yesterday.

My commute is 5.4 miles one way. On the way to work, it’s typically uphill (230 feet of climb all told) and into the wind. Wind measurements said it was only about 9 mph this morning, but it sure felt like more than that headed towards Mitchell Pass (on the Oregon Trail, baby! – history geek bikers: eat your heart out).

According to the time stamp on the photo I took as I was leaving the house:

takeoff

And the time stamp on the photo when I arrived at work (note the snow on the bluffs in the background!):

landing

It took me 35 minutes to get to work.

On the way home?

I did not clock the time, but it was not likely much better.

Sure, it was downhill, but I was bucking north-northwest winds of 16 mph gusting to 30.

I tried to beat a rain cloud home. Partly succeeded, but wound up with wobbly legs.

We’ll see how tomorrow goes!

PS – If you are in the Wyobraksa area, and you are reading this during Bike to Work Week, have you signed up for the WNBC BTWW?

Copyright 2014 by Katie Bradshaw

Leave a Reply

