On the run again

For lack of a better photo for this post, here is a gratuitously cute photo of a baby pronghorn antelope running. (Photo taken July 2010.)

For lack of a better photo for this post, here is a gratuitously cute photo of a baby pronghorn antelope running – the only time I have ever seen a baby pronghorn. (Photo taken July 2010.)

The motivation came in a social media feed post. It was an article on getting back into running after a long hiatus. (I’d link to it, but I can’t find it.)

I’d stopped running in March when I overdid it and hurt my ankle getting back into running after a couple of months off. It’s time to get going again. I will need the fitness to conquer my biking goal this year (Cycle Greater Yellowstone).

The article suggested, among other things, taking it reeeeal sloooow with a run-walk start and ramping up the proportion of run to walk over time.

Yesterday, I did a little over 3 miles of run-walk. (Does that count on my yearly running total if I only ran part of it?)

I did not bring my phone because I did not want to get discouraged by the slow time I’d register on my running app.

I just ran. And then walked. And ran. And walked.

Today, my quads are surprisingly sore.

But the ankle is fine! (And knee! And hip!)

I just need to keep at it – pole-pole!

Copyright 2014 by Katie Bradshaw

Leave a Reply

