My solution to sore sitbones

My last couple of long rides had left me worried. My sitbones just ACHED with discomfort, starting only about 10 miles in. The pain generally intensified just after I would stand up, leaving me desperately wanting to get off the bike seat, but dreading it, too.

What was going on? I managed to ride nearly 400 miles in a week last year, and I didn’t remember it hurting this bad. Did my pain threshold suddenly drop?

Bugman and I biked nearly 40 miles yesterday (1,794 feet of climb), and the ache in my bum was quite minor – very tolerable.

What was the difference?

I’d been biking to work for a couple of weeks now, thanks to Bike to Work Week kicking me into gear.

I must just need to be on that bike seat more than once a week to develop a tolerance. (I wonder what physiological mechanism leads to the reduced soreness over repeated exposures to the bike seat – anyone know?)

I’ll chalk it up to “realizations of a still-newbie.”

On another note, the ride report: IT WAS FANTASTIC RIDING WITHOUT WIND!!!!

It’s amazing how much faster you can go when you’re not bucking a 15-30 mph headwind!

We hit a brief but fairly heavy shower, too – enough to make my feet squish in my bike shoes. When we paused for a break, I wrung out my socks. Good move, as the Swiftwick socks I was wearing seemed to pull a lot of the remaining moisture up out of my shoes. (Love those socks!)

Photo taken at the intersection of highways 88 and 71 in Banner County. We set the camera down on the base of a light post. The grass is all in focus because it is not moving! No wind!!

Photo taken near the intersection of highways 88 and 71 in Banner County. We set the camera down on the base of a light post. The grass is all in focus because it was not moving! No wind!!

Copyright 2014 by Katie Bradshaw

Leave a Reply

