Work-day running

It’s so hard for me to get work-day running right. It takes so much planning. It also sucks up my evening.

Need to time my eating just right so I am neither deliriously hungry (have to schedule in a snack before the run) nor full (can’t have dinner before running). Can’t run too late in the evening (I’d have trouble getting to sleep afterwards) or too early (I work).

Today, I got home from work, had a bowl of cold cereal for a snack, and went for my walk-run. Warmup before. Stretch afterwards.

So here I am, standing over my computer at the kitchen counter, eating cold baked beans with tortilla chips for dinner.

Mmmm yummy

Not real pretty, but it tastes OK.

I can have a home-cooked meal, or go for a run. I can’t manage both.

I now have just enough time to shower before it’s time to go to bed.

This running thing? Training? It’s hard. And I don’t have kids to take care of. I’m not training for Ironman or anything. I’m just trying to hack my lifestyle.

It’s hard.

Anyone who says differently is selling something.

Copyright 2014 by Katie Bradshaw

2 thoughts on “Work-day running

    • My dear Bugman is an excellent cook. Much better than me. Alas, he works too much, too. I also prefer his company on my runs. It’s a good way for two busy people to maintain a relationship. He is sweet to slow his pace to match mine.

Leave a Reply

