That was weird

I’m still not entirely sure I interpreted the situation correctly.

I was headed southbound on Pacific Boulevard (so named for the Union Pacific Railroad – not the ocean) on my bike commute to work this morning when I became aware of a car about two blocks away, headed towards me.

No, really, I mean HEADED TOWARDS ME.

They had crossed over the center of the street and were coming directly at me. In my lane.

At first, I thought they were pulling a “glide over to the other side of the street to pick up a friend” maneuver, but they did not kiss the curb. They kept coming.

At about the time I was considering jumping my bike onto someone’s lawn, the car adjusted its trajectory to pass close alongside me, still way over on the wrong side of the road.

The driver, a happy look upon his/her face, extended an arm waaay out of the driver’s-side window, palm extended towards me.

Crap on a crutch – I think they were trying to high-five me!

If that is indeed the case, I, uh . . . appreciate the gesture? (Is this what Nebraska Nice looks like?)

But, please – a friendly wave, even an overenthusiastic tootling of the horn, is much preferred to physical contact in terms of friendly greetings to a bicycle commuter!

Copyright 2014 by Katie Bradshaw

Leave a Reply

