First real summer run

“I’m going for a run,” Bugman said this morning.

I’m so glad he did.

At the time, I was sitting in my p.j.s, sipping coffee and dillydallying on the computer. Birdsong was floating into the room via the cool, gentle morning breeze from the windows. I had vague notions about going for a run. Sometime … later …

If Bugman had not led by example, I probably would not have run at all.

I was finally motivated to make my seasonal wardrobe exchange.

I keep out-of-season workout clothes, other than a few items for unseasonable or change-of-season weather, in a tub on a high shelf in my closet. Because I’ve not been running much, most of my short-sleeved running shirts and shorts were still in storage.

Short-sleeved shirts piled on the bed, cold-weather gear stacked in the storage tub. (The quilt on my bed was made from years worth of running shirts from my time in Iowa.)

Short-sleeved shirts piled on the bed, cold-weather gear stacked in the storage tub. (The quilt on my bed was made from years worth of running shirts from my time in Iowa.)

It was around 70 degrees when I headed out. I passed a craft fair and chided myself for not thinking to take money with me on my run. The sno-cone truck was at the fair! I so love a sno-cone after a run – especially a run that leaves me with that sandy-skin feeling of evaporated perspiration (I really do like running in this dry climate!).

Instead, I had a splash of coconut water. I know coconut water has been over-hyped, but somehow, on some occasions, it feels REALLY GOOD to drink some. Surely, it was better for me than a sno-cone.coconut waterGet your coconut water. Man, it’s good for your daughter. Coco got a lot of iron. Make you strong like a lion. Raowr!

Left me feeling on top of the world. (Or on top of the deck-badly-in-need-of-refinishing, anyway.)on top of the worldCopyright 2014 by Katie Bradshaw

3 thoughts on “First real summer run

    • I sent the shirts out and paid a company in Kentucky to do it. Alas, my skills do not include sewing. (I once duct taped my pants legs instead of hemming them. Seriously. Works great, provided you take the tape off before you put them in the dryer.)

Leave a Reply

