Spring storm sprint

The old farmer I spoke with when I first moved to western Nebraska summed up the climate here perfectly: “It’d be paradise if not for the wind and the hail.”

I get kind of leery about biking to work in the springtime when there is a higher probability of storms. This morning, it was really humid. Eerily humid.

These two photos, of my arrival at work yesterday and today, illustrate the difference:

Perfect spring day

Perfect spring day

Eerily humid day

Eerily humid day

I probably should have paid closer attention to the weather. Instead, I took a glance at the sky around 4:30 p.m., a quick glance at the radar, and decided I needed to head home NOW!

The clouds were growing taller as I watched, and there was a green tint to a part of it - never a good sign.

The clouds were growing taller as I watched, and there was a green tint to a part of it – never a good sign.

I wound up bucking 30-mile-per-hour headwinds and thinking about where I might shelter if the storm hit mid-route.

I was very lucky that the storm passed to the north.

Here’s a photo of a hailstone that fell northwest of Bayard, which local radio station KNEB posted to their Storm Center Twitter account:

KNEB Storm Center hail

It would hurt reeeeal baaaad to get hit by that.

So today, Juneathon Day 3, I lounge on the couch after my homeward spring storm sprint, grateful and wobbly-legged.

Copyright 2014 by Katie Bradshaw, except hail photo copyright KNEB

3 thoughts on “Spring storm sprint

  1. wind, hail and also heat and humidity and cold… I live in New England and people don’t believe me when I say that the weather in the mid-west is way hotter and way colder than the coast. It makes sense to me, but other folks are always surprised.

Leave a Reply

