Bike, run (ow!), swim?

Today was a gorgeous day to be out exercising.

BIKE

The temps started out around 45 when I cycled off to work this morning and maxed out at 72 on the ride home.

The ride home seemed . . . easy. I still had plenty of energy when I got home.

RUN

“I feel like going for a run,” I heard myself say.

“OK,” said Bugman.

We headed out, and about a mile from home – OW! (Except I didn’t say “ow”.)

My gol-durned ankle spiked with pain. Left side. Somewhere under the lateral malleolus.

It’s the same pain that stopped me from running last year – that I needed a chiropractor’s help to get past. It’s the same pain that stopped me from running earlier this year, and that now has me hobbling across the room.

No swelling. No bruising. No tender spots. Just pain when I move.

SWIM

I decided to drown my sorrows in the bath, with a glass of wine.

A photo of the bath after my swim, with the empty wine glass still in the holder thingy.

A photo of the bath after my “swim,” with the empty wine glass still in the holder thingy.

Although my ankle still hurts, I do feel a bit more relaxed.

Running and hot baths have similar effects on me – they both open up the circulation and help me wind down.

No more running for me for awhile.

For the bulk of Juneathon, I really need to focus on that cross training to strengthen my oft-injured, weaker left side.

Copyright 2014 by Katie Bradshaw

6 thoughts on “Bike, run (ow!), swim?

  1. That bathroom is beautiful!Oh, you could happily swim through the rest of Juneathon on that!
    My sympathies on the ankle twisting though. This is something I have always been prone to doing, even way back as a little kid. I sprained both ankles and wrists then. And I discovered years later that a very probably reason for falling over my ankle is because I have overly flexible joints.
    Anyway, happy healing hours in that wonderful tub!

Leave a Reply

