DAILY AMBULATION (dance walking)

This evening found me in a foul, low mood.

A hundred niggling things at work. A saddle sore. A wonky ankle. Mosquito bites on my legs.

“Screw it,” I thought to myself. “I’m not doing anything for Juneathon today! I’m going to sit on the couch and pout and drink a beer.”

Black IPA - perfect for when you can't decide between a stout and a pale ale.

Black IPA – perfect for when you can’t decide between a stout and a pale ale, or for when you’re pouting.

And I did!

And I read some Juneathon blogs.

One of them got to me.

DAILY AMBULATION. Take it seriously.

It’s true. I sit all day at work. Health stats show that kind of inactivity is really, really bad.

But no biking today – saddle sore. No running, either, with that ankle. With the mosquitoes out, I don’t want to walk, either.

For some reason (maybe the beer), the perfect answer popped into my head – DANCE WALKING!

dance walk guru master

(If you have not seen the dance walking bit before, go here.)

So, I popped a 70s-80s disco mix “tape” (actually a CD) into the player and dance walked around my living room until I was dripping sweat and my cats were staring at me like I’d gone completely mad.

At risk of embarrassing myself, my playlist:

  1. Blondie – Heart of Glass
  2. Wild Cherry – Play that Funky Music
  3. Gloria Gaynor – I will Survive
  4. Donna Summer – Hot Stuff
  5. Ohio Players – Love Rollercoaster
  6. Rick James – Superfreak (Thinking about Little Miss Sunshine here.)
  7. And, the dance walk anthem: Peaches & Herb – Shake Your Groove Thing

I feel much better now. And my ankle behaved.

Thank you, Nameless Dance Walk Guru Master (AKA Joe).

And thank you for the ambulation reminder, Cynthia. I hope your mom heals quickly.

Copyright 2014 by Katie Bradshaw

3 thoughts on “DAILY AMBULATION (dance walking)

  1. Dancing in your living room! Right on, girl! I’ve done that with my grandson from time to time (his music of choice is Santana) but I’m going to remember this as a legitimate D.A. (Daily Ambulation) as well as a seriously fun thing to do – especially with a nice beer and some cats! You have definitely ramped up the fun here! I’ve seen that video before, but it really made my day to see it again. And I LOVE your playlist!

  2. Ha ha – it is funny you mentioned this because I was just thinking about dance walking on my morning run today! I would love to have enough courage to actually do this down the street, but for now I will stick to my 80’s music and air guitar!!

    • I am sooo tempted to ask a goofy subset of my girlfriends to start up a dance walking club. 🙂 Now, where to find a suitably deserted pathway . . .

Leave a Reply

