Juneathon Day 11 – FOOD

It seems that lots of other Juneathoners are posting about food today, so I’ll jump on the bandwagon (and attempt to obscure the fact that I am not planning a workout today, though I do hope to tackle the mound of dishes by the kitchen sink, which should count for something).

Healthy eating is part of running/biking/cross-training, right??

The summer farmer’s market has started up again, and I am thrilled! The variety of fresh and local foods inspires me.

Here was the haul from Saturday morning:

Cheese curd, asparagus, precooked pureed butternut squash, rhubarb, chevre walnut-cranberry-rosemary cheese ball, chocolate-walnut turnover, s'mores scone, kale, vitamin greens, lettuce, Andouille sausage, German sausage, brats, chorizo, fermented spicy cabbage, two loaves of whole-grain bread, and a jalapeno pretzel.

Cheese curd, asparagus, precooked pureed butternut squash, rhubarb, chevre walnut-cranberry-rosemary cheese ball, chocolate-walnut turnover, s’mores scone, kale, vitamin greens, lettuce, Andouille sausage, German sausage, brats, chorizo, a jar of fermented spicy cabbage, two loaves of whole-grain bread, and a jalapeno pretzel.

The German sausage, curds, rhubarb, pastries, one loaf of bread and lettuce have already been consumed this week.

I might try something like this for the vitamin greens.

The kale and squash found a home in this lovely soup this evening: curried red lentil and butternut squash soup with kale and toasted chickpeas.

I am very glad to say that I did not wind up wearing any of the soup, as it would have been impossible to get the turmeric stains out of my clothing. I do have a yellow stain on my hand, though. Oops.

Copyright 2014 by Katie Bradshaw

4 thoughts on “Juneathon Day 11 – FOOD

  1. A long time ago I accidentally discovered a solution for turmeric stained clothes. I had a pair of pale grey pants, my favorites. I made some curried potatoes and when I stirred the skillet I caused several to jump out and roll themselves down my pantleg, leaving a yellow trail. I was sad. I put the pants in the wash, but they were still stained. So I decided to totally dye the entire pair of pants in a tub of turmeric tinted water. I figured they might as well be yellowish grey pants. But what they ended up being was grey pants with many ugly yellow random streaks and blotches. For some reason the yellow didn’t stick to the pants in an all-over kind of way. After the dunking in the tub of turmeric water I sadly put them outside on the line to dry (I didn’t want the inside of my dryer to be smeared with yellow). This was in mid-summer so the sun was beaming in my Iowa back-yard. When I brought the pants in from the line they were…..grey! Just grey! No yellow at all! So, the lesson….sunshine fades turmeric, even intentionally strong turmeric “dye!”

    • Oh my goodness! Great trick! Thank you for sharing!! I normally dry my clothes on the line here (the humidity is so low, it hardly makes sense to use a dryer unless it’s raining or winter). I wonder if that trick would work with plastic utensils stained with turmeric . . .

  2. Ah, great turmeric killing tips above! Thanks!
    You must have some serious Germanic DNA in your blood out there in Nebraska. The feast looks very much like what would be enjoyed in Germany and Eastern Europe.

Leave a Reply

