Easter picnic ride 2015

The weather this past week was more than cooperative for what has become our traditional Easter Sunday training ride.

Our 45-mile out-and-back ride to Lyman, Nebraska, on the state line with Wyoming, started out with temps in the upper 50s with a rare tailwind out of the east and ended with temps in the low 70s, and a tailwind from the west.

That’s right, the wind switched direction on us at just the right time! Tailwind pretty much all the way, baby!

Not that it wasn’t a good training ride. There’s plenty of climb between Scottsing and Lyman. My legs were tired by the end of the day.

Total climb between Lyman and Scottsbluff was about 2,000 feet, discounting the ride out to Lyman, when I forgot to start my tracking program. Our top speed of 37 miles per hour was on the final downhill at the South Mitchell road.

Total climb on the ride home from Lyman to Scottsbluff was about 2,000 feet, which discounts the ride out to Lyman, when I forgot to start my tracking program. Our top speed of 37 miles per hour was on the final downhill at the South Mitchell road at mile 15 above.

Part of the reason for choosing Lyman as a destination, aside from the just-right distance and hills, is its park with picnic shelter (and access to water and bathrooms when open for the season, which they were not Easter weekend). It was a tradition in my family when I was growing up to have an Easter Sunday picnic (with bubbles, kites and other outdoor fun), and I’m pleased Bugman has been willing to continue this (adapted) tradition with me.

Easter picnic in Lyman. The fare includes hard-boiled eggs, bunny-shaped cheese crackers, bunny-shaped fruit snacks, "sport" jelly beans, chocolate eggs, and almonds.

Easter picnic in Lyman. The fare includes hard-boiled eggs, bunny-shaped cheese crackers, bunny-shaped fruit snacks, “sport” jelly beans, chocolate eggs, and almonds.

I'm actually not terribly fond of hard-boiled eggs. Unless they come with bacon. We did not have any bacon in the house, but spiking the eggs with cheesy bunny crackers was a decent alternative.

I’m actually not terribly fond of hard-boiled eggs, unless they come with bacon. We did not have any bacon in the house, but spiking the eggs with cheesy bunny crackers was a decent alternative.

More cheesy bunny crackers! NOM NOM NOM!

More cheesy bunny crackers! NOM NOM NOM!

On our way back home, a little to the west of Stegall (pronounced STEA-gull by locals and stuh-GAHL by the weather radio), someone was staring at us from a field beside the road:

Nopealope! Antelope ain't gonna stick around and see what we're all about.

Nopealope! Antelope ain’t gonna stick around and see what we’re all about.

That got me to thinking – the perfect Easter bunny for this region would actually be the jackalope! I did a quick search for a jackalope I’d be proud to have for an Easter decoration, and found this lovely beastie, from an Etsy artist in Russia (check out her super-cute dragons, too!):

Squeee! I'm working on my acquisitiveness, as I really have too much "stuff," but, gosh - this is so cute! If someone wants to buy it for me, I would not be sad.

Squeee! I’m working on my acquisitiveness, as I really have too much “stuff,” but, gosh – this is so cute! If someone wants to buy it for me, I would not be sad.

One more random image from our Easter Sunday ride, taken at (unincorporated) Stegall:

"Road breakup ahead"? I'm not too sure what that means, exactly. But surely, this could be inspiration for a country song!

“Road breakup ahead”? I don’t know precisely what type of road hazard that indicates, exactly, as I’ve not seen that verbiage on a sign before. But surely, this could be inspiration for a country song!

Copyright 2015 by Katie Bradshaw

One thought on “Easter picnic ride 2015

Leave a Reply

