What you don’t want to see when you’re on a bike

Due to some close calls on the road, Bugman and I bought a nifty little tail light / video camera combo for our tandem – a Fly6.

Today was the first time the camera recorded anything that really scared me.

Take a look at these screen grabs, captured just after we turned west on Old Oregon Trail from Five Rocks Road:

dog1dog2dog3dog4dog5In the audio, you can hear me shout “Dog!” At the same moment, I reached down for my water bottle to defend myself (my legs are closest to a pursuing dog in my stoker position on the back of the tandem!), and – RATS!! – we didn’t bring water bottles for this short ride!

You can then hear me hollering at the top of my lungs like a madwoman “NO! BAD! STOP! GO HOME!!!”

I saw the dog hesitate for a moment, but then it continued closing in . . . and pranced excitedly past us, continuing to run back and forth across the road and next to us until it decided to chase a pickup truck on a side street.

The word “whew” seems inadequate here.

We pedaled on up to the Monument, my spinning legs fueled by adrenalin shakes, all the meat in my right calf intact.

WHEW!

Copyright 2015 by Katie Bradshaw

One thought on “What you don’t want to see when you’re on a bike

  1. Pingback: Mounting Hardware Failure from the Point of View of a Fly6 Bike Light/camera | Wyobraska Tandem

Leave a Reply

